Healthy Olive Infused Hummus

Healthy Black Olive Infused Hummus

I love love love good hummus. My previous BF’s family was Armenian and spoiled me with some unbelievable meals, most being served with hummus and baba ganoush. I put it on everything. Although hummus is packed full of fiber it is still quite high in fat. Moderation is key but if you’re like me and can’t get enough, try this healthy alternative. I must admit, not quite as good but still tasty none the less.

5 oz. can chickpeas, drained
3 tbsp. tahini
2 cloves of garlic
5 black olives with pits removed
1⁄2 tsp. cumin
1⁄2 tsp. salt
Juice from 1/2 lemon
3 tbsp. olive oil
2/3 c. plain fat-free yogurt
1⁄4 c. water

Combine all of the ingredients in a food processor. Set to puree and scrape the bowl frequently. If the mixture is too thick add a small amount of water at a time until it reaches your desired consistency. Test taste and add more lemon, salt or pepper as needed. Spoon into a shallow bowl and top with a drizzle of olive oil and sprinkle of cumin. Hummus can be stored in your fridge covered for up to 4 days.

3 responses to “Healthy Olive Infused Hummus

  1. Oh my gosh this sounds delicious! It’s on my list of recipes to try ASAP! I love the idea of adding olives to humus. Sounds so so so yummy.
    *Tania

  2. Thanks so much for the kind words about my blog. It’s a new thing for me and I’m happy you like it 🙂

    I’ve heard of many treats being added to hummus, but since I’m a dud in the kitchen, I rely on recipes to make dishes like this 🙂 I may have to experiment with the sun-dried tomato too… uh oh, now I’m hungry.
    *Tania

Leave a Reply

